New to PF, 1st month trying for baby after being on Mercilon for 10 years

EmmaN27

Reaction score
Hi all

I'm new to PF today and just wanted some advice on a couple of things:

1) Has anyone else been on Mercilon and if so, did you have any problems with ovulating/periods when you come off it or did your cycles return to normal straight away? I took my last pill on Sunday 18 September and started artificial bleeding on Tuesday 20 September which finished on Sunday 25 September, when roughly should I expect to be ovulating?

2) In regards to lubrication, can you still get pregnant when using lubrication? We have been using a Durex Play as it's almost impossible to do it without lubrication (too painful).

Thank you in advance for your help. :)

Last edited:
Some people ovulate within a couple of weeks of taking their last pill. I was on the pill for 10 years but had a total nightmare when I came off it so am not the best person to give you any advice.

You can purchase ovulation prediction kits form the internet and you use them in the same way as a pregnancy test and they give you a positive result on the day before you are due to ovulate. Most people use them from day 8 or9 of their cycle.

pre-seed is a conception-safe lubricant.

Welcome by the way, hope you enjoy it here :wave: and good luck with TTC x

hi and welcome to pf :wave:

for lubrication im not sure whats safe but pre-seed lube is meant to be a good one and is very sperm friendly, i dont think many are.

as for ov it depends on how long ur cycles usually are, but after coming of the pill this could take a while to establish.

xx

Thanks ladies.

Sorry, one more question as I really don't have a clue about how the body works when trying for a baby, do you always get CM when you are ovulating? I haven't had any so far so I'm assuming that I haven't ovulated yet. Is this a way of knowing when you are ovulating?