Circumcision

isobel84

Reaction score
So im having a boy.. OH is a muslim. He want our boy to be circumctised. Its very important to him.
So im abit.. dont really know what to do. I did say to him when i first found out i was pregnant that i would be ok with it. But now when i know we are having a boy im scared.
Im not sure how it works and when i try to read about it i find the language too hard to understand (im not english)
I asked some girls at work and one said her boy had it done when he was a few weeks old, he was in discomfort for a few hours after and then he was ok.
The otherone, her son was 3 and put to sleep when they did and he never had any problems. The third girl said she cant belive im even considering it.
In Islam the boy need to have it done before puberty.

So what do i do.

Im so comfused.

Hi Hun,

I have no experience in this as my family are all women! But i didnt want to read and run.

I'm sure there are hundreds of pro's and con's to circumcision and i dont think there are any wrong or right choices, its how you feel about it more than anything, you have plenty of time to decide!
I had a friend who had it done as an adult as he believed it was cleaner, that was several weeks ago now and he's doing fine (aparently lol)
If my OH was religious and asked me to consider it, i would rather my son have it done at a young age as he is less likely to remember it, but thats just my opinion on it.

Are you not able to find any info online in your first language? :(

I think the younger the child the easier it is for them though I could be completely wrong x in America it's very very common and almost second nature x I'll have a look see if I can find any info and try to put it into plain English x we won't be circumsising Seb but we're not Muslim or religious and my OH isn't circumcised x

yeah i been looking but i think the information you get is rubbish to be honest. and alot is just personal views on it.