Low iron levels & IV drip for treatment - any advice?

Sunnyb

Reaction score
My iron levels are 8.4 & I've been prescribed ferrous sulphate tablets & told I need to go for IV drip to boost levels back to 11+
Has anyone else had to have this? My midwife has urged me to go for a course of IV treatments to boost my levels as with just under 9 weeks to go, tablets alone won't do the trick. I took ferrous sulphate tablets during my last pregnancy which upset my stomach, caused constipation & I ended up with piles :wall2:
I lost a lot of blood during my last birth which required 4 blood transfusions & yet more ferrous sulphate tablets!
I'm wondering has anyone taken other prescribed iron medication either tablet or liquid form that didn't upset the stomach or cause constipation? I just don't want to feel ill all the time or get piles again. I'm not very good at taking liquid medicine, so again what does it taste like?
I have been told that if I don't get my iron levels back up it will increase my chances of bleeding heavily again after birth & the need for further blood transfusions. I felt so drained & poorly after the birth of Joseph & I'm frightened of history now repeating itself.
Any advice or suggestions will gratefully be received as I'm very nervous now :oooo::oooo:

Sunnyb xxx

I've had no experience in pregnancy but my mum takes spatone, a liquid iron supplement. She says it definately has a taste to it but you dilute it in water, I think you are supposed to add fruit juice so that would help to disquise the taste (my mum is allergic to oranges so can't do that). If your midwife is recommending IV treatment then go for it, the oral route won't boost your levels fast enough.

Can't help I'm afraid but am sending you my best wishes....hope the IV helps to strengthen you up for the birth and this baby comes smoothly and easily with no problems xx