Life after the pill.....

OneDay

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm pretty new to all this, already finding out a lot of information from reading posts. It's great.

Me and my OH are in discussion about when I should come off the pill.

I keep trying to tell him that it can take upto 6 months for my body to fully return to normal but he seems to think that as soon as I come off the pill I will get pregnant.

I know all you are currently TTC so I was hoping you may be able to share your experiences with me?

Thanks

I wouldn't know personally as I was only on the pill for about 4-5 weeks total and I'm irregular anyways. My sister is also irregular and she fell pregnant I think within a month or 2 of coming off the pill. Can't remember how long she was on it for though.

Sorry not much help but I do know it does vary a lot for every woman, we're all so different! :) x

There seem to be several girls on here that have been screwed over one way or another from their various long term contraceptive methods, including the pill.

You are both correct - you could become pregnant right away... but you might also be effected for several months. You won't know until it happens.

I've never used contraception but based on what the other girls seem to go through i'd suggest coming off it asap.

I imagine your hubby will complain, but he'll either have to use condoms or go without until he is ready for a baby ;)

I'm liking your thinking Louise! I will put that idea to him....something tells me condoms will be introduced fairly quickly!!

He isn't a big fan of those either so TTC may come around quicker than I have planned for!!

It is just difficult to talk to my OH about it because he thinks things like this happen instantly!!!

I agree with Louise, due to the fact that a lot of women say their cycles get messed up after coming off the pill, I would ditch it straight away. x