Amnio tomorrow following 1:5 risk

PinkFairy

Reaction score
Hi, I am 12 weeks pregnant and having an amnio tomorrow following my CBT which has come up with a 1:5 risk of my child having Edwards Syndrome. Any advice or help would be really appreciated. Thanks

Hi PinkFairy,
Sorry I have no experience/advice, but just want to wish you the very best of luck for tomorrow xx

Thank you so much. And the very best of luck to you too xx

Well, when I spoke to the hospital they said we'd get the results within 5 days. But I've been reading up on it and apparently you can pay to get the results fast-tracked probably within 2 days. So we'll go for that if we can.

I wasn't worried about the actual test because I didn't think it would be painful but now I've read some cases where it's been excruciating! I think I'll stop reading now!

How are you doing? You are undergoing IVF is that right?

I've only joined this forum today so am not really used to all the abbreviations and symbols etc.....:roll:

It's a shame you have to pay extra to get the results quicker. I'd definitely pay the money too, but why can't they get ALL the results done in two days..?

I've heard amnios are uncomfortable but bearable. It's probably varies a lot for different people, but try and stay relaxed (if possible!!). Can your OH (other half :)) go in with you when you're having it done?

Yes we're on our second round of IVF. We'll know one way or the other if it's worked by next weekend. The first try worked but sadly miscarried at about 8 weeks. I hate all the medical intervention... would love to have just a natural pregnancy!

Welcome to the forum by the way :) There's lots of lovely ladies on here. I think less people come into this section, but you'll soon find out where all the busy sections are :)