a little encouragement needed pls...

kitten1102

Reaction score
hey all,

this is my first time back to the forum since my little one was about 6 months old (he's now 2 and 2 months).

I've been a single mum for months now and I'm starting to struggle. The tantrums are coming thick and fast, he won't eat at meal times (even the food i know he likes), he whinges when he doesn't get his own way or whenever I ask him to hold my hand when we have to walk to and from the car. He refuses to make eye contact with me when i speak to him.

I know that its all normal, but none of my friends (most of whom don't have kids) or my ex seem willing to just listen to how i feel without feeling the need to give me some long speech about how he'll respect me in the end if i discipline him now.

I do feel horrible when i have to sit him on the naughty box, or attempt controlled crying with him, coz there are times when he is the most affectionate and wonderful child in the world.

Lord, i feel like such a bad mum sometimes because it feels like i am the bad guy, and then daddy appears every other fortnight and they have such a lovely time, and he is such a good boy for my ex.

Why does he only play up for me? Somebody pls tell me i can do this, as it's starting to feel like i can't...