Starting to wonder if I'm doing the right thing!

mrs_bump

Reaction score
I really wanted to do BLW with my LG who is now 6 and a half months. She doesn't seem to be taking much interest in the food, I have just tried her with broccoli, baby corn and a crumpet but she didn't even pick any up! I then tried her with an Ella's kitchen pouch I had in the cupboard for 'emergencies' and she ate half of it! Should I stick with BLW in the hope she will start to take more interest in the food as it's so disheartening to prepare all the food and then throw it away untouched or would it be better for her if I go down the puree route? Thanks for any advice xxx :-(

Now, im not an expert as only just starting this journey myself but ive decided to do a combination of BLW and TW. My LO is loving baby rice and banana and he also like to pick up foods such as carrot sticks, etc and put it in his mouth but pretty much all of it ends up on the floor. I also let him feed himself with a spoon for the last mouthful, its messy and is more him using it as a facemask and then gagging on the spoon, but its helping his coordination. Anyway, what im saying, is maybe try a combination and see how she goes. Sadly, from what i have seen with my nieces and nephews being weaned, it can be quite a messy and wasteful start until they find what they really like. Maybe give her something pureed so she can get used to the taste then go in with bits she can pick up. Im sure she'll get into the swing of it and it is early days yet!X