Renatidine - when to give

kumber

Reaction score
We've been prescribed renatidine (sp?) for reflux. We are ebf so have to syringe it into him, he has 0.5ml kad 3 times a day.

My question is, when can I give it to him? Before, during or after meeals? With gaviscon we were giving mid-meal but there doesn't seem to be instructions with when to give it to him renatidine and I stupidly forgot to ask the GP.

I have no experience, but didn't want to read and run. I'd call your GP surgery and get them to ask the Dr. for you. xx

We've been on renitidine. They have to take it straight so lily had to have it from syringe also. It was 3 times daily for us so I did it first thing when we got up then around lunchtime then just before bed. They don't have to take it with food or before or after as such. The consultant told me to just spread it out evenly. I gave it before a feed though personally it really worked for my daughter. Hope it helps your little boy too xxx

Thanks both, much appreciated. He has still been a bit sicky but I'm hoping that changes soon.

Hi just wanted to say I do the same as caseysmummy11. If I can I give it to her then do a nappy change and then feed her. I found this worked so much better than gaviscon but then my lg suffered badly with constipation on that. She's now over nine months and hardly ever sicky now, weaning worked wonders, the hv advised me to start early but when she was on full meals at six months this made a huge difference. The next change was when she started crawling. It won't last for long honestly.