Hi newbie here with a question!!

misspink87

Reaction score
Hi ladies :) im new to this site but not to ttc. i use bounty too. im 24 and have a little boy who is 2 and a half and have been casually ttc number two for a couple of months. question i have is i have been having +opk's since friday, they may well have been positive before friday if i had tested before then. i was on cd17 when i took the first one and have been getting + ones still right up to today (cd20). when would i class myself as 1dpo? i normally ovulate around cd13/14 but it seems to be later this cycle (i also decided not to use opk's this month to 'relax' lol) im going insane coz i have never had so many +'s this many days in a row! argh! any help would be ace, thanks ladies xx

I think u take the day after the opk's go negative as 1dpo. But most of the time they say stop testing after ur first pos opk and count 1dpo from the day after. I'm not much help, :blush: I have a similar situation as I had pos opk's for 3 days on cd16.17, & 18, but I have a 30 day cycle. Xx

I had a look at my tests and they say that they predict the lh surge to 30 hrs so for instance if your actual surge was on monday you would also have positives on sunday and tuesday and probably lines on sat and weds so two days of lines but not positive would mean your surge was three or four days ago. However your egg can be released up to 24hrs after your surge and so a positive on monday would probably mean an egg alive on tues possibly wednesday.

Added to this sperm can be kept alive up there for five days so as long as you have sperm up to 4 days before your surge , surge day or day after then sperm and egg can meet so you have about a 6 day window to get it right.
Ive read up on this becuase i have a sperm donor with one visit per cycle and so it has to be in the fertile zone each time or it all goes pear shaped!

Just try to do it every two days around the right time and dont worry to much.

X Daisy