Has anyone been told not to have a hot bath?

katieearnshaw

Reaction score
Hi

This is my first time on the forum, so hello to all!

I am 8 weeks pregnant and still have not recieved anything from my midwife...I have chased it with the doctor's surgery but still no letter or appointment date! So....I have quite a few questions to ask and was hoping you might be able to help.

The one on my mind at the moment is that a friend told me her midwife has said not to have any hot baths during pregnancy...has anyone else been told that? I don't want to carry on doing it if it's something I shouldn't be doing!

Katie x

It's best not to have them too hot while you're pregnant. I'm not sure it was something my doctor or midwife ever told me though. Welcome to Pregnancy Forum and congratulations! I hope you get your appointment date soon :D

Hi

Thank you - good to know that is one thing i shouldn't be doing...so will stop that now :) Am so worried that there's lots more I shouldn't be doing that I currently have no idea is wrong! Think I will chase the doctor on Tuesday if I don't get anything in the post!

Thanks for your help!

Katie x

I think it can raise your blood pressure. Just like Sams Mum said - not too hot :)

As long as you're taking folic acid every day and avoiding foods you shouldn't have you should be fine... (unpasteurised or mould ripened cheese like brie and camembert, blue cheeses, don't eat tuna or swordfish :)lol:) more than once a week because of the high levels of mercury... actually I'll find you a link in case I forget something important :rofl:

http://www.nhs.uk/chq/Pages/917.aspx?CategoryID=54&SubCategoryID=131

The advice is that you should be able to get in the bath at once without having to get in bit by bit - ie if its too hot. Although i don't think there is proof that it does any harm, but its best not to raise your internal temperature.
Welcome and good luck too