Feeling so upset about having to return to work :-(

Nat26

Reaction score
I have to make the decision of whether to return to work by tomorrow. I will have to go back full time Mon-Fri 9-5.30 (possibly starting back next month)....I say its a decision but infact I don't have any choice, If I don't go back I do not have any money to live... at the moment we literally can't afford to go food shopping. I'm a qualified Accountant and therefore can earn a reasonable salary by returning to work (unfortunately I'm in a situation where I am the higher earner out of my partner and I).

I have worked really hard before becoming a mum with my career and I enjoy what I do but now I face missing my little boy growing up. I am literally crying myself to sleep every night knowing I can't be here for him :-( I feel like a terrible mummy...

I'm exclusively breastfeeding which makes it even harder as I won't have that closeness I have now with my lo, I love breastfeeding. I want to continue to give him breast milk but I'm not sure whether I will be able to keep up my milk supply by pumping?? :-( If anyone has any experience with this I would be really grateful to hear how you got on. Is it even possible?

This is literally breaking my heart to know I'm such an awful mummy and I know people will think really badly of me for returning to work so early :-( Not sure if anyone will have any experience or returning to work this early (or certainly not any positive experience of it??)

Thanks for reading x

I've been pumping for a few weeks and my milk supply has kept up so far - but I am also worried it might not always do!

Firstly, you are not an awful mummy! You are doing what you need to do for you and your family. That makes you a wonderful and caring mummy. I'm sorry it's just such a hard decision to make. I cant even begin to imagine how you are feeling. I'm sorry I can't help you regarding breast milk supply but this is something I'll need to look into myself at some point.xx