Does anyone know where i stand on this??

Princess_Puddles

Reaction score
Ok i've posted this here as i wasnt sure where else to put it:

Ok just wondering if anyone knows where I stand here, any advice will be appreciated,
I worked weekends before maternity leave and as I’m due to return to work in March me & OH have been talking about what I’m going to do about going back, I cannot afford not to so I spoke to my boss and he told me he has no spaces for weekend work now and I could do 11-3pm Mon-Fri instead but me & OH cannot afford a whole days childcare if I’m only going to work 4 hours a day.
I know your boss isn’t allowed to give away your job but I’d be doing the same job during the week but it’s in my contract that I work weekends, I really don’t know where I stand, I can’t afford not to work but there wont be any point in me working on the hours he’s suggested. Sorry if this doesn’t make any sense.

Thanks in advance

Mica

Hi hun

I'm no expert so can only give my opinion I'm afraid. But I really don't see how they can do that especially if you've only taken ordinary maternity leave (as opposed to additional maternity leave). As you say your contract states weekend working, and they are trying to vary one of the most basic and fundamental terms of your contract - working hours. Doesn't sound right. As I say I'm no expert - I think you need professional advice or advice of someone who has been through it themselves.

:hug:

LBxx

Taken from here:
http://www.hrmagazine.co.uk/news/index. ... 36337d42c3

Do I have to let employees return to the same job at the end of their maternity leave?

An employee who intends to return to work during, or at the end of, her ordinary maternity leave will have the right to return to the same job that she left. She will have the same seniority, pension rights (if any) and similar rights as she would have benefited from if she had not been absent.