doctors and midwives

VetNicky

Reaction score
Hi,
I've just been to see my doctor for this first time and I've come away feeling totally confused. It wasn't what I expected at all.
She worked out how far gone i was, didn't give me a due date. asked if I was taking folic acid (i am) told me not to eat soft cheeses. told me its ok to eat nuts - until I pointed out i'm allergic which is all over my notes. Asked if there were any family health issues - my dad had a stroke last year at 43 and i've always had raised bp while i was on the pill but never needed medication. that was it. I was told to call reception to book to see the midwife. she didnt weigh me, didn't take my blood pressure. nothing. she couldn't answer any of my questions about what its safe for me to do at work (I'm a vet) other than telling me to have nothing to do with cats at all(which I think is the wrong advice). She told me to ask the midwife about taking x-rays, doing anaesthetics etc.
So I rang to book a midwife appointment and was told they wouldnt even take my details until I was 8 weeks gone and they wouldnt see me until 12 weeks.

Is this how its been for other people? I thought the early months were the most risky and I cant seem to get answers on whats safe for my baby and what isn't:cry:

Your doctor sounds ridiculous, she should have given you a lot more advice. Is there another doctor you can talk to? Or perhaps call NHS direct? Internet is good for finding out dos and don'ts and pregnancy books are also helpful.

Here is some useful info on the cat situation http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/isitsafeto/catlitterexpert/. You don't need to steer clear of cats just avoid touching litter trays.

x