Chicken Pox

First Baby White

Reaction score
Hi,

Can anyone help, I have been in contact with someone who I work with daily who today found out his son has chicken pox. He has no symptoms but you can have the infection without it showing.

I am 16+3 and spoke to NHS direct who said if I have had chicken pox before there is no risk which I had so was relieved but then the midwife called as I had left her message and she said that is rubbish and I need to go and have a blood test done as there is no way to know if I am immune!!!

Does anyone know the risk or what damage it could cause??

Also does anyone know anybody who has had chicken pox whilst pregnant????

Hi, i'm a teacher and one of the kids in my class had chicken pox. Luckily I had an appointment at the doctor the next day anyway and when i asked I got told I needed a blood test to test for immunity, cos apparently some people can get chicken pox more than once. I think it's rare if you've already had it though.
If you aren't immune you need an injection(... I think.)
Chicken pox in pregnancy can be harmful to your unborn baby so I'd go for the blood test hun!
I think most people are immune, but it's best to be safe. xxxx :D

Thanks Sarah,

I am due to have it first thing on Monday so I hope thats not to late!!!

How long did it take for the blood test to come back?

They said they would contact you quickly if you weren't immune-within about 2 days, but if it was ok you wouldn't hear anything until next midwife appointment-I think I phoned just to check a week later and they said it was all fine.
Hope it goes ok.xx :hug:

A few years a go we had a chicken pox epidemic at work half the kids at the nursery got it.
One of the girls was pregnant and became very worried about the effect it could have.
But her doctor said there was no need to worry as she had had chicken pox herself before.
And she was fine :D