Cats

PinkHank

Reaction score
Hi all,

As you may have read in another of my posts, I went to the Dr today as I found out I was pregnant on Saturday. I am 6 weeks gone :)

Anyway, while the Dr was going through the list of things not to do and not to eat, she asked if I have a cat.

We have 2. And they are indoor cats.

She says I am not to handle their cat litter at all. Because of a disease they can carry.

Has anyone else been told this? Do any of you have cats?

She said I would be okay stroking them etc, as long as I take good care and wash my hands before eating etc.

It's made me feel abit weary, as one of our cats is a Ragdoll Cat and he is SO affectionate, bless him.

I guess I just have to leave all the litter changing to hubby... he didn't look too impressed when Doc said that. lol.

Last edited:
IMO...as long as you wash your hands well theres no problem but im no doctor. xxx

yeah its true :(
i dont do my cats litter hubby does it but he still gets a fuss :)

yeah its true :(
i dont do my cats litter hubby does it but he still gets a fuss :)

Thanks Midnight. Do you stroke your cats and everything as normal?

Dr. had me worried for a bit lol.

i did the litter and my little princess was more cuddly then ever when i was preggo. she sleept under my duvet and always was close to me. just out of topic, now since i have had Noa, she is very protective of us both, she has becomme nasty to everyone but me and Noa (also toward OH :( )

We have a cat and I've made my hubby take over the litter cleaning, but tbh if you wear rubber gloves and wash your hands afterwards I can't see how there can be any risk. I'm going to keep the official line but start doing it myself when I notice it needs doing as it's a pain in the arse sometimes waiting for him to come in as my cat doesn't cover her chod up when we use the wood litter n just leaves it lying stinking on the top of the tray. Lovely little image there for you lol.