Breastfeeding Essentials?

Rooster30

Reaction score
Hi. I'm planning on breast feeding my baby when it arrives. I did not breastfeed my son so I'm very new to it all. Aside from breasts :lol: is there anything that's needed in particular?

Also can anyone recommend and good breastfeeding books?

I didn't read any books, but kellymom.com is a very useful website.

Lots of muslins and lansinoh nipple cream were my essentials, as was a very supportive husband!

Nursing bras, nipple cream with lanolin, a nursing pillow if you're tall helps to avoid hunching over while feeding and associated back pain.

Ditto kellymom website, have a good read beforehand so you know what to expect.

Things I found useful, nursing tops, nursing bras and loads of breast pads, I had an avent electric pump and some bottles for after 6 weeks (but tried him at 5 weeks old) , lots of Muslin cloths and a pretty large scarf that I used when I was feeding out and about as it would hide any bits I might flash but not look like I'm obviously feeding.
Xxx

I didn't end up needing the breastpads or lansinoh cream but worth to have on hand. We never used bottles. Its hard to have too many muslins.

A friend lent me a hand breast pump but I didn't really get on with it. It probably would have worked fine for relieving rock hard breasts but my milk came in quite slow and steady so I never had that issue. If you know you are going to need to express because of work or something a good electric pump is probably worth the investment.

Kellymom is a great site.

After boobs I think determination and good support are what help most.

Last edited:
These are the things I needed/wanted:

• breast pads
  • nursing bras
  • sleep bras (stretchy fabric with no nasty clips to dig in when you're sleeping)
  • a water bottle (and somebody to refil it frequently)
  • flapjacks (oats are supposedly good for milk supply)
  • a DVD boxset (for when you're stuck on the sofa with a baby on your lap)