When did you tell work?

luci

Reaction score
I'm 12 weeks and 4 days pregnant today, and am just wondering when I should tell work? I work as a waitress in TGI Fridays, so I'm on my feet, walking around all the time. The food smells sometimes make my sickness a whole lot worse, and have spent a few shifts running backwards and forwards to the staff room to be sick :(

My OH also works with me, as a bartender, and he is currently in work, and has just text me to say he's with one of the managers, its very quiet and its just the two of them, should he tell her?
I don't know when is recommended to tell your workplace? I'm worried they'll stop me working as a waitress and put me on the door etc, which means no more tips etc, which means my income will decrease hugely!
Should I ask him to tell her?

I told my boss at 5 weeks due to working with radiation so had to tell them. Its completely up to you when you tell them but I would say its best for you to tell your boss yourself. You have to inform them by 25 weeks at the latest I think. x x x

when i told my boss, i was working in a very hectic clothing store, and was up and down ladders/kick stools and the main stairs all day long. HOWEVER i had barely any sickness what so ever, and didn't feel like it was affecting my performance, so waited util 15 weeks! was cheeky too i left her a letter in the office the day i went on holiday for a week! the only thing i would advise is to wait util after you 12 week scan (if you've had it and feel comfortable telling DO!) best of luck x

I've told my work at 8 weeks. I had appointment with hospital at 9 weeks and didn't wanna make up silly excuses why I can't come in on certain mornings from that day and on.
But it's totally up to you to decide!!!