My experience with acupuncture - finally a BFP!!

DocL

Reaction score
Hi there ladies,

So I'm new to this, and I promised myself that I would use my experience to try and give others some encouragement and hopefully a bit of inspiration that it can work out in the end.

A few days ago I got my BFP, and I'm so delighted and also in shock!:shock:

I'm 34, and my DH and I have been TTC for nearly 2 years. Not helped by the fact that we were living apart for the first 6 months, but we were trying our best to DTD regularly in spite of this.
In March of this year I had a miscarriage, which sent my cycle pretty haywire. So the next 6 or months made TTC very difficult (in addition to having a very stressful job and my dad passing away).
I had been using ovulation sticks, but even looking back (after AF had arrived) to when I should have been ovulating, I clearly wasn't having obvious LH surges..

Feeling like I was getting into a negative cycle of obsessing so much about getting pregnant, I figured that I needed to try and approach it with more positivity. I had been reading about the potential benefits of acupuncture (more so in conjunction with IVF, but having said that lots of women on various forums were reporting they had had acupuncture and then quickly gone on to get pregnant).
So I reasoned 'what have I got to lose?'. At the very least, I hoped that acupuncture might help to alleviate some stress.

My acupuncturist is a lovely lady , who listened intently, and made me realise just how much stress my body was under.
I had a few sessions over the 2nd half of my cycle, which were aiming to generally relax me, and I certainly felt pleasantly sedated after these sessions! My acupuncturist had pretty much concluded that my uterus was very cold and needed warming and nurturing. Looking back, I can now see that whereas once I had good flow and strong pre-menstrual cramps, this had all gradually dwindled.