how long do bottles stay sterilised for?

nds

Reaction score
i use the tommee tippee electric steriliser to do my bottles and if i recall correctly, the leaflets says bottles stay sterilised for 24 hours if lid is unopened - but says nothing about how long they are sterile for if i do open the lid?

so far i've just put the used bottle in there and set a cycle to sterilise them, and left it unopened until the next feed - is that what i have to do everytime? or are they still sterile for a period of time after i've opened the lid?

it seems a bit useless having six bottles in there and only being able to use one before having to put another cycle on?

sorry, i'm a total newbie and worrying i'm not doing it right
x

I can't remember exactly hun but I know I used to wash and sterilise all the bottles and then make them all up for that day (cooled boiled water in the bottles, formular in the lil pots) Seemed to work fine and meant they wern't sat around to air dry for hours on end :) x

i've tried to do some googling - few people saying theyve sterilised then fitted all the bottles together and left on side? i presume that's more sterile than leaving them in their pieces and fitting together once you come to use it after opening the lid?

just wasting electricity doing one bottle at a time :lol:

we use our perfect prep machine so don't need to make up.
x

I always used bottles within 24hrs even after taking them out.
I used to out cooled boiled water in them and leave them on the side with lid on until i neededto use one and topped with boiling water & then formula as an when needed.
By the evening i have te bottles sterlised readyfor the next day then xx

We've just sterilised once a day using the Tommee tippee and taken them out as we need them. As long as you put the lid back on in between, should be ok. We've not had any probs.