• Xenforo Cloud has scheduled an upgrade to XenForo version 2.2.16. This will take place on or shortly after the following date and time: Jul 05, 2024 at 05:00 PM (PT) There shouldn't be any downtime, as it's just a maintenance release. More info here

Home water birth vs hospital birth

Melly+2

Reaction score
Im wanting to have a home water birth but i am unsure of the risks involved. What are the pros and cons of each and what do you say the chances are of something wrong at home as that my biggest fear, thanks ladies, id love to hear your experiences if you dont mind :D

I've no experience or wisdom to impart but am hoping to have a hospital water birth. My hospital has one birthing pool so I'm hoping it won't be in use when I go into labour! Personally a home birth scenario isn't for me, not because of any specific medical reasons but as this is my first and I have no idea of what to expect pain wise so I would rather be in hospital with all its pain relief options :D

As far as I know, if you've had a normal uncomplicated pregnancy you should be absolutely fine to go ahead with a home birth. The midwife who attends will be looking for signs that either you or the baby is in distress and you would be rushed to hospital at the first sign of trouble. However if this is worrying you, I would have a talk with the midwife who is going to be there to reassure yourself that you trust them to make the right decisions at the right time. Because to be honest, if you're that worried, it may spoil your home birth experience.

I had hoped for a home water birth because I knew I'd be able to deal with the pain better if I felt in control, and that meant my own environment. I ended up not getting the water part because he came too quick to fill the pool up, but tbh if I'd gone to hospital I don't think I would have made it into the pool so no water birth for me.

I'm filling up the pool a week before my due date this time & just keeping it warm!