Breech

Olive

Reaction score
Hi ladies,

I had my 32 week mw appointment today and baby is lying breech again (but all fine thank god). She wasn't overly concerned at all and said that he has time to move, but basically said that if he doesn't move by my 36 week appointment, a Consultant will decide at 37 weeks whether to book me in (assuming for a section, she didn't correct me when I asked about them after that).

Hopefully lo will shift, but just wondered if anyone is/has been in the same boat?

A friend was telling me that a section isn't necessarily the first choice if breech and that they may use forceps? I've heard of them manipulating the baby with their hands on your bump if breech but not forceps before. I'm not sure how that would work, but it sounds fecking awful!

Thanks for any replies.

xx

I have no experience but have never heard if forceps, I have however heard if them giving you an epi and attempting to turn them externally in theatre so if its unsuccessful they can progress to a section. A few years back it was common practice for breech babies to be delivered vaginally and then they panicked whipped them out by section which meant mws deskilled and so now are not used to delivering breeches. Hopefully Lo will turn soon for you though Xx

Thanks hun. I've heard of epi too I think. Or ecv maybe. I'm not sure. Hopefully he'll move and it won't even come to that. Will start getting on my hands and knees lol. Maybe buy a birthing ball as well!

xx

is there not things you can do to encourage him to move. I think i read spending time on all fours helps (although that might be a heap of rubbish. lol)
xxx