12 hours at night but not gaining enough weight!

evajo

Reaction score
Hi All,
Just wondered if anyone elses little one is sleeping through the night or not gaining weight according to growth charts. My lo is 2 months old and sleeps between 12 - 13 hours at night and has been for weeks. However when i weighed her today she has gone done two percentiles. She was on the 91st so she is not small by any standards and i have just put away all her 0-3 month old clothes as they no longer fit. I can't help wondering if her slowing of weight gain is due to her sleeping. Any comments welcome

Well, I have no experience of the sleeping through the night stuff (
you lucky thing) but Austin is 91st as well, and was telling someone who said her girls was also at 3 months, but by 6 was back down to 50th. No reason or worry, but probably had a growth spurt.
She's still way up there on the chart, and it's not yet a consistent week by week loss so I wouldn't worry.

Hi Eva,
Jealous of the 12 hours! Though my Lo has done 8 hours in a row for a fair while now too so I can't moan at all really.
How old is your daughter now? If you're baby was really small to start with then poss be concerned, but otherwise I wouldn't really worry. They will go up and down in the growth things for a while. Cian was 8lbs 12 when he was born, went down to 8lbs 2, at 4 weeks was 9lbs 15 - so he had grown but they thought he would have grown more... but not worried. Then last week (7 and a half weeks) he was 12lbs 2, so suddenly grew a fair bit.
If she eats well during the day then don't worry. If she sleeps 12 hour nights I would estimate they would aim for her to eat about 6oz every 3 hours... poss 7 if poss, just as from what I understand (which could be totally wrong!) they should eat around 24-30 ozs in a 24 hr period?
Hope that helps
x