worried about tearing?!?!?!?!

mel0013

Reaction score
does anyone have any tips to help avoid tearing during labour? i have a gel that im applying i just wondered if there was anything else i could do.

would this also help me avoid needing an episiotomy?

being able to push slowly to allow things to gradually stretch goes a long way to help avoid tearing - it's when you have a rushed delivery that it usually occurs! With my son, his heart rate dropped so drastically during pushing that they were telling me to push, push and push without a break, even when I wasn't contracting - as he needed to come out asap - I got a 2nd degree tear due to his rushed arrival! But with my daughter who was a pound and half bigger was born in water and allowed to take her time etc - and I had not even a graze! even the original scar tissue from previous tear was fine!

Have a look at Perineal massage. Also you may want to have a look at some Natal Hypnotherapy techniques?

I had a very long and drawn out labour but the upside was no tears or grazes..

X

I think tearing was my biggest fear about giving birth! However like the others said if you try and take the pushing stage slowly and do as the midwife tells you (little pushes, stop) it does help. I had quite quick labour but took 1hr 20 mins to push Max out so only had a slight graze and that was only because the little monkey turned the wrong way as he came out. My sister in law pushed hard and fast and her daughter was out in 4 pushes and she tore quite bad xxx

Last edited:
I was pushing for almost 2 hours!

It was my fave part, loved it and cannot wait to do it again :roll: :lol:

X

thank u uve been really helpfull :)