when did you meet the midwife?

cherelle

Reaction score
Just wondering when everyone met their midwife... how far gone you were etc? And also - why do some people have scans before 12 weeks? Im new to all this! x

Midwife will see you from 6 weeks plus. I saw mine at 8 weeks.

You have an early scan if you have pain or bleeding.

I had to have one at 8 weeks as had some "spotting" they call it. Very scary!!!

The early scan is a nice reassurance and make it seem more "real", but wish I had not had to have one in a way as I do not like the spotting! :(

You can get a private scan if you want one, I have noticed a few girls on here have paid to have scans for reassurance before 12 weeks x

Hi! I met my midwife for booking in (filling in forms etc) at 7 weeks. I had a scan at 10 weeks because I had previously had a missed miscarriage.

The doctor told me i will see the midwife around 10 weeks for my booking in appointment, i know different places have different timescales though. Have u been the docs yet to refer you to a midwife?

As for the early scans, most of the time it because of a scare, i had one two days ago because of strong pains on my left side.
Some of the ladies on here have payed for a private scan but i think you have to be roughly around 7 weeks before they will accept a booking. Hope this helps hun x x

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

thanks you girls. I went to the doctors on Monday but he told me to come about in 2-3 weeks to register with the midwife.

How do you know which pains are normal? x

Light cramping is normal and quick sharp pains on one side are normal too.

Any pain that goes on for a long time and does not subside, or any pain that is severe should be checked out straight away!!

My pains were very sharpe on my right side and the nurse told me they were normal, most of the pains are just stretching pains, getting ready for your bean to start growing x x

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk