Unsupportive boss.

futuremummy237

Reaction score
Hello! Im having a few issues with my boss, I wondered if any of you were the same?

I am a nurse and the sister on my ward is less than enthusiastic about my pregnancy. She has got me working 8 day and 9 day straight shifts and I am just absolutely knackered, im almost 22 weeks pregnant. I work on a really heavy ward and she really just is not supportive.

I told her today that I have to finish early on thursday because I have to go for another anomoly scan because my little girl was being stubborn and wouldnt budge so they couldnt look at her heart. Instead of saying 'yes thats fine, I hope the scan goes okay' she goes all grumpy with me and say' we are really short staffed that day. if you dont have lunch you can go'. This is literally pissed me off so much. She isnt giving me the annual leave I am entitled to before my maternity leave either and im fed up of it, im owed about 4 weeks, and she says I can only carry over 5 days because of staff capacity. Im sorry, but I dont see why I should be penalised for her shit staffing levels and management skills. URGH. So now I have to go on mat leave at 36 weeks, which is going to be nigh on impossible in my job. Also, for every antenatal appt I have had, I have had to swap my shifts so they fall on days off, because she wont give me the time off for them.

URGHHH. I just needed a rant, working in the NHS is an absolute pain in the arse.

xx

By law you are entitled to time off for antenatal appointments within work hours, I would approach your HR dept and if necessary report her for mistreating you during pregnancy. It's not your responsibility to cover for their shortages.

I can sympathise my husband is a paramedic and they are an absolute nightmare if he needs time off. They should be giving you all the help that they can xx