Teacher and pregnant?

Annie050408

Reaction score
Hi there,

Just looking for some advice from fellow teachers if poss?

I am a year 2 teacher and due 12th October. I plan to return to school after the summer holidays for 4 weeks before going on maternity leave. One question I have is that I am currently a NQT and by the time the baby is born I will have completed 1 academic year 11 weeks before the baby is born but not a calendar year. Does anyone know which it has to be to get the full maternity package? I can't find the info online.

You are best checking with HR at the LA hun but the holidays are technically part of a full academic year so it makes no odds. If you started on 1st Sept you will need to work till the 1st Sept the following year if their requirements are a full year for full entitlement. The fact you're an NQT doesnt really matter as such. Do check though. I am in secondary education and I was due 15th October with my last so I went back after the summer and did a couple of weeks then finished. What date did you start at your school? :)

I started on 1st Sept although my problem is that they count from 11 weeks before your edd which for me would bring it to 3rd August, meaning that I wouldn't have completed 1 calendar year :( it's so frustrating when they decide to judge it like that because I will have actually completed 1 calendar year and 1 academic year by the time I go on maternity leave but won't get the full package :(

Last edited:
Bobbins. :( Do double check with the person in charge of maternity rights in HR hun. Unfortunate timing :(

Hi fellow year 2 teacher! Is your contract perm or fixed term? That will make a difference obviously. Just to echo what others have said check with LEA HR person. Good luck!

Last edited: