Pregnant teachers

Catherine

Reaction score
Hi I found out I was pregnant on the first day of the summer holidays 6 weeks ago. I've had a nice long rest and now I have the back to work blues, made better by the thought that I only have to work half a year! :dance:

Don't get me wrong, I love my job but wondering how I'll cope with the demands as I get bigger and more focussed on the bub. I've been in school for two days this week (usually it's all week) and was really conscious about standing on tables to put up backing paper and lifting heavy boxes etc. No-one at work knows yet, so I felt a bit wierd.

Are there any other pregnant teachers or school-workers out there with similar worries? Would be nice to know I am not alone! :wave:

Hello, I am a teacher too. I go back to work on Monday. I have been thinking too about how it is going to be. I am really tired and really sick, it is going to be hard to concentrate on the job at hand. As you know, you have to have as much energy and enthusiasm as a Butlin's Red Coat! So far i feel I have as much energy and enthusiasm as a wet sponge.
I am just going to be militant about doing displays and things (we're not suppossed to do them anyway) , I have a great classroom team who will do them for me. (I am in a Special school, so loads of adult help)
I am worried about the usual furniture shifting I always do on day one. I am just going to have to go slow and careful.
I have to tell my boss I am pg next week, because I have so many other probs with my two previous pg, it is only fair to warn her in advance.
I am quite worried about one of my class who is epileptic. the student is quite large (teenager) and has one or two massive seizures a day. you can get punched, kicked or headbutted in the tummy really easily. It is difficult to avoid because that child needs an adult to be with them to prevent them hurting themselves. I might talk to my boss about it.