Sleeping Trouble...

ASD123456

Reaction score
.....Well the dream is well and truly over (literally!), I can't sleep on my belly anymore and sleeping on my side is proving a bit difficult as I'm a novice.

I keep waking up on my back which I have never done in my life and now that I'm pregnant I'm not supposed to. Sleeping on my side gives me back ache because the bump has no support.

So, has anyone got any good sleeping advice. Have you bought special maternity pillows? Whats the best way to use a normal pillow to support your bump?

This probably seems like a long post to just talk about sleep but I've been a belly sleeper all my life and now I'm finding it hard to adjust especially with the extra worry about sleeping on you back.

Alex xxx

Oh no, I think i must've missed the chapter on sleeping! I've always slept on my left side, every now and then I find myself on my back- is this not right?! :shock:
Lidl's have maternity pillows on sale from today for only £8.99- saw it advertised at the weekend so might be worth investing.
I'm shuffling off now to find out more info on sleeping positions! I'll let you know if I find any nuggets of info if others don't post first!

To support your bump atm you can just use a normal pillow, maybe not overfull, and rest it under your tummy as you turn sideways on to it. Curl down a bit onto it so you are leaning slightly downwards not lying straight on your side.

Also putting one between your knees/legs helps keep a good position. If you bring your top leg over and forward, it will help keep you in position. Don't have it behind you as it will encourage you to roll back.