Screaming during labour...

Hope81

Reaction score
All movies etc I have ever seen there are women in labour screaming....
How true is that?
Now I want to be really realistic and I can't do anything to not let it happen but I am a doctor at the hospital that I will deliver and lots of people know me there and I will meet them again... I don really want to make a fool of myself ifykwim :( stressing a little about that.
I have pretty big threshold of pain but after all it's my first time and I am pretty sure that the pain is more than I could ever imagine...

I never screamed in labour with either children. IMHO it's a waste of energy that I could be channeling to help in practical ways. That said, if you feel you want/need to do it you should go right ahead.

Oh then it can be avoided with strong will... Good to know lol :)

Oh def. though Husband did tell me I sounded like a cow whilst I was labouring at home (supposedly my oooooh noises was mooing!!) but that just made us giggle!

I was saying all through pg that I wouldn't scream, waste of energy and didn't want mw to be annoyed with me so I would get their best care lol. When it came to it I had a few annoyed groans / shouts but not loud, and when first urge to push / pushing contraction came I groaned this wired sound LOL was wierd :)

I didn't scream at all , just a few grunts when pushing . TBH pushing my LO wasn't that bad it was horrible earlier on when I had contractions and they would give me no pain relife . I ended up having diamorphine and gas and air to help which worked wonders. As someone else has said there is no point in wasting energy screaming when u need it to deliver your baby xxx