Real Nappies

monster_munch

Reaction score
OK so I am sick of disposables but DH is 10 million % against real nappies as he thinks there will be shit in the washing machine etc (I've explained to him that you can use liners which you can throw away but he doesn't seem to take in that info!) Anyway, I'm going to try it without him knowing but what do I need?? Obviously there's the fleecey outers and the liners I just mentionned but what's the inbetween bit?? and more to the point where can I get (relatively) cheap ones to try??

Muchos Info appreciated :)
I'm a real nappy newbie so anything will be of use

ok.. well il try and condence it for you lol..

there are loads of different type, i make and sell shapped nappys and covers right now.. these are the easiest nappys to use imo (and ive used loads) the nappys themselves are usually towelling material, cotton,bamboo or terry they go on like a disposable nappy and fasten with either velcro plastic poppers or a nappy nipper (a peice of plastic used instead of nappy pins) then you need a cover which is waterproof (PUL) or water resisten fleece or wool.

you dont NEED a liner, you rince the poo off (with the shower if it can reach or flush the loo over the nappy) or shake the poo out down the loo if you use a disposable liner you just chuck it away.. fleece liner u shake and rince..

put the nappy in the nappy pale and wait til wash day..

wash day.. empty pale into washign machien and set to a prewash (i use cool woolen wash as my prewash) with no detergent, after that prewash put half the normal amount of detergent no fabric softner) in and wash between 40-60 degrees, peg out radiator dry or tumble..

theres never any poo in the machine, you rince that away to begin with.