over 5years of ttc, anyone else out there? feel so alone!

wcd.18

Reaction score
hii everyone im new to all of this so bare with me on all the 'slang' used lol me and me oh have been trying for over 5years now with not a glimmer of hope, ive had a few tests all coming back with good results and doctors say i should be able to concieve, my oh has had several sperm tests done and each show he has a low count and low motility!? id love to hear from anyone who has a similar problem or is a lttc! thanks everyone xx

Hi, welcome! Sorry to hear about ur oh's results. Are u now under the care of a fertility doctor??

Hiya wcd :)

Five years is a long time to be ttc - what are the doctors offering in terms of treatments?

Low count and motility implies that should have been referred for IUI or IVF by now xx

hii, we cant be referred for iui or ivf as my oh already has a little boy hes 7 so we dont qualify for it, all doctors have said is keep trying im 22 my partners nearlly 25 its a hope to know my oh has had a child but so frustrating thinking whats the matter with me? doctors say nothing but us women know our bodies ive had blood tests x-ray examinations? what else can i do? after 5years im starting to think ive not been made to be a mum! xx

Well, the first thing to do would be to improve your partner's sperm which you know isn't good.

His little boy could have been a fluke or perhaps his sperm quality has been declining over time due to lifestyle choices.

Both low count and motility are able to be corrected with good lifestyle choices so you need to make sure his isn't smoking, isnt drinking more than a couple of pints per week, is minimising caffeine, not having hot baths, no drugs, taking antioxidants, etc.

As for you, if your test results are coming back good and you cycles are regular then it is more likely that you are perfectly normal but if you want to try anything, follow a similar plan to your partner and get healthy.