money worries :(

sarafet

Reaction score
hi guys.

a few questions.

i am a student but have taken a year out to get things sorted, moving house etc. it means that i don't get my bursary though (£500 a month,) and we're basically living off my oh's wages.

i'm going to try to get a full time job, (i'm only about 6/7 weeks just now,) but i'm wondering if i just start working with an employer while pregnant if i'd be entitled to maternity pay or anything? i'm worrying that we're going to struggle with money.

i've checked an we don't seem to be entitled to any benefits :(

thanks

sarah xxx

You won't be entitled to maternity pay from your employer if you get a job now as you need to have been working there since before you were pregnant to qualify. However you can apply for Maternity Allowance as long as you have been employed in at least 26 out of the 66 weeks before your baby is due (it doesn't have to be the same employer either). Your midwife will most likely give you a booklet with this info in it at your first appointment. You will get child benefits and probably qualify for tax credits too.
hope this helps :)

There's not much difference between SMP from an employer and Maternity Allowance from the government. The only big difference is maternity allowance doesn't give you the first 6 weeks at 90% of your normal wage.
With maternity allowance your employer still has to offer you your old job back at the end of maternity leave