loss of male sex drive in pregnancy

susannah

Reaction score
Hello! I'm new to this chat room but am in need of some advice. i'm 32 weeks pregnant and increasingly worried about the nose dive that our sex life has taken. My partner is quite affectionate still but just isn't initiating sex. I have stopped initiating as it's so hurtful to be rejected everytime. Is this normal? on all the websites it talks about loss of female libido, not male. It is making me feel very depressed and unwanted, which in itself I fear is turning him away even more. I am trying to enjoy this pregnancy but it is making me worried that the relationship isn't going to last..we have stopped having sex altogether now for 5 weeks but before that it was intermittent at best and always inititated by me.

What's the best thing to do? shall i wait until the baby comes or try to resolve this now? Any attempt to tackle the issue results in him saying that he doesn't think there is a problem, which is making me feel like it's all in my head! i already have a ten year old daughter from a previous realationship but this particular problem never came up then.

Men sometimes get worried about having sex while their partners are pregnant! My partners not been put off sex but gets scared of squashing him!!
Maybe have a chat with your partner and see how he's feeling!

thanks. I've asked him previously if he's scared of hurting the baby and he's said no...it's one of those situations where you kind of wish that that WAS the reason! the alternative is that he's finding it difficult finding me attractive, which is obviously a bit of a bummer to my ego...
it's hard to discuss as it instantly turns it into a problem to be talked about, when all i want to do is stop talking and have a cuddle!