Jamies Ministry of Food (foody thread so in here)

Urchin

Reaction score
I didn't want to put this in the TV bit cos I want to know how/what you guys cook.

There are parents on this TV show now who have takeaway for them and their kids 4-5 times a week because they "can't cook" I can't believe some people just let their kids have crap food every night of the week! Kebab meat and cheesy chips almost every night, how sad :?
I never used to be a great cook but I have had to learn over the years, and now we have decent cooked dinners about 5 times a week, stuff like cottage pie, casserole, lasagne etc then a couple of nights eg. fish fingers and chips etc to give me a break. I can't see why people can't learn when you have kids, fair enough if you wanna eat crap yourself but what about poor kids getting no vitamins or veg... ever.

I'm a terrible cook. But i do try. My specialty is roast of some description. Or casserole.
I was a fussy eater as a child and i really don't want my kids to be the same.
I'm starting to try new things. I'm getting better at Hickory Chicken now.

Chinese... and lots of it... BUT... home made Chinese food. We even have a rice cooker :lol: Its usually rice and stir fry... We occasionally have spagetti, pesto pasta and if we are very lucky we get San Jacobo's (kinda ham and cheese wrapped in bread crumbs) and chips :dance: There are also Swedish meatballs (oi oi :wink: ) with mashy potato... and generally lots and lots of different things, its whats on special offer at Lidl's :rotfl: ... Around twice a month we will have take away/eat out... which is usually Chinese :rotfl: or we will go out and have menu del dia which is usually home cooked Spanish food so not really junk :)

I have just spent a full night in the kitchen doing Fynns meals to freeze... and Im fair fooked!

I did 8 chicken dinners - chicken, mash, cauliflower, broccoli, carrots and sprouts

7 corned beef cassaroles - mash, carrots, peas, corned beef cassarole