How much will it cost on a monthly basis to have a baby?

Growth2016

Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I am new to this, I am thinking of having a baby, I am in the middle of planning financially for this.

Any advice or suggestions are welcome, please feel free to point out anything I may not have thought of yet.

Many thanks for all your time.

xx:)

Hi and welcome, it really depends. For example, we're going to be using re-usable nappies so obviously there's the initial cost of purchasing but then no need to buy disposables on a weekly basis x

Hi and welcome to PF :wave:

As FP said, it completely depends. When I was pregnant with our son after our first scan each week we started buying a packet of nappies and wipes into our weekly shop. We barely noticed the price difference each week and by the time he was here we were stocked up for ages :) We also bought neutral things (unless you know the sex) whenever we had spare money and saved up so when he was born and we knew the sex we went on a shopping spree. One of my favourite days! I also breastfed so didn't worry about formula. Its one of the main things you can't stock up on because you don't know what milk will agree with your baby so best to wait. Again just add that into your weekly shop (about 10 pound). When babies start to eat if you wait till 6 months to wean they can eat pretty much whatever you do so you'll barely see a price difference in that too!