General conceiving advise needed!!! (and newbie here!)

Missylou

Reaction score
Hello Everyone,
Just joined the forum, looks fab and it has already been quite helpful looking through threads!
My story is basically:
Me and other half decided to start trying 4 months a go, I came off the pill then and didnt have a period for ages, so we didnt bother realy trying. Well today woke up and actually have a period! So a few questions really. Where do I go from here? Do we start trying this month? My period was a 28 day cycle before went on pill but obviuosly now its a bit messed up should I wait til my next one so I have an idea of cycle?
Many thanks!
:D

Hiya sweetie, im not a die hard TTCer, but my limited knowlede would say that it can take more then a few mnoths to get the pill out of your system, it can take up to a year but im sure for you it wont take long!

Just chart for a few cycles, do your temps, get some ovulation sticks and pee and you should get a good idea when you ovulate!

Your in the bet place to speak about this

Hello
I've not been ttc for very long either.
I came off the pill a year ago, but my periods are still not regular.
I was at the docs anyway yesterday and decided to ask her about this and how it may affect ttc. She said NOT to chart temps or do ovulation tests, just to make sure there is plenty sperm going in (every 2-3 days) and not to worry about it. If nothng has happened after a year then they can start to investigate why.
So, my advice is not to worry about it or get too obsessed (which is not easy) and try and have a relaxed approach and just let nature take it's course. After a while if you really wanted to know when you ovulate you could start charting, but i would hold off from doing that for now.
Hope that helps - that's just my opinion!
Good Luck!
xx :)

If you and your DH have high sex drives and BD 2/3 times a week normally, I'd say what others have said and just relax and go with the flow.