• Xenforo Cloud has scheduled an upgrade to XenForo version 2.2.16. This will take place on or shortly after the following date and time: Jul 05, 2024 at 05:00 PM (PT) There shouldn't be any downtime, as it's just a maintenance release. More info here

Early scans

Littlerayray

Reaction score
I've noticed a few people have had / are having early scans. I was under the impression that we didn't get one until we were 12-13 weeks? I'm very new to this so perhaps I'm mistaken. Or is it because you're going private rather than on the NHS? I'm 4+4 and would love a scan soon but thought I'd have to wait....

Scans r done on the nhs at 12 weeks unless theres a problem,quite a few ladies that have early scans have had bleeding or previous miscarriage. u can pay 4 a private scan from 7 weeks i think xx

I paid for a private scan at 7 and a half weeks - it was more for reassurance than anything else, and because I didn't want to wait until the end of July for my official one - my antenatal care is in Ireland, and I'll be about 14 weeks before my first scan.

I had mine because I needed a dating scan, and had been admitted to hospital, and had 2 previous miscarriages x

I had an early miscarriage in march so we booked a private scan with a company called babybond. I just want some reassurance that everything is ok. It costs £99 and I'll have it a week today- I can't wait!

I had a missed MC in march after spotting, and weeks of spotting again this time, round so that's the only reason I ended up with 2 early scans, it is lovely fokr reassurance, but doesn't prvent anythinghappening to baby after the scan. If I hadn't had one on NHS, I had started looking up the private ones, ad prob would have paid in the end.

Good luck

Last edited:
i had no problems but wanted to know my dates so booked a private one at 9 weeks for £99 at babybond too, im glad of this coz nhs didnt give me an appt til 14 weeks! xx