Changing baby's pattern?

Sassysugar

Reaction score
Hi there, this is my first time posting in here since i had Colby last Thursday :) I am probably being a bit premature as Colby is only a week and a half old but wonder how I would go about changing his sleep pattern? He is breastfeeding really well throughout day/night and goes to sleep pretty much straight away through the day, but night seems to be a different story.

He has his evening feed but then starts crying, we burp him and try to settle him down again but it seems to take ages (he's been awake since 7:30pm tonight) he will snooze on oh but when we put him down he just starts crying again. (he is snoozing on oh atm)

I can't work out if it's because we are in a different room to through the day or do all babies just have a wakeful period? When he does finally settle it seems to be in the bed with us, which again I don't want to end up being a permanent thing.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, even if it's just to say this is completely normal, just feel like we're the only ones going through this, though I'm sure it could be a lot worse, would just like a little more sleep :)

Dont have advice but we have the same problem - he just wont settle in his moses basket. I dont want to co-sleep, much rather put him down in his own bed

Its hard for me to give good advice as I was BF'ing my 1st & she didn't go in her own crib for about 2 weeks. But i'd say all you can do is keep trying, keep putting him in his crib after the feed & hopefully he'll get used to it eventually. Even just let him have a wee grumble for 10mins in his crib??

:hug:

Sounds like his day and night is a bit muddled up. Isla wouldn't sleep for longer than a few minutes at night when she was tiny. We introduced a routine, bath cuddles etc and kept with it. She eventually went to bed at 7 and slept for a few hours from 3 months old.

Emma x