Baby Asthma

Rosieroo

Reaction score
My DS has asthma and I could really do with chatting to someone about it (having a bad day, or rather week!).

If anyone is in a similar boat could they pm me? Feeling isolated today! :cry:

Edited to say:

DS has recently been diagnosed with baby asthma after suffering from wheezing, coughing and puking since a newborn.

He got better after being on meds for a while, but two back to back colds have left him struggling. I'm pretty new to all this tbh and any advice would be gratefully received!

Don't laugh at his dungies, they're his cloth bum ones (and I've already heard he looks like coco the clown, a smarties easter egg and a twister board from family)

Alex is on max dose of clenil (brown one, 4 x 100mg puffs a day), a good 10-12 blue puffs a day and granules at night before bed but he's been really wheezy lately.

Can you watch the vid and tell me what you would do (i.e do you think he needs the doctors, we went last week and were told he was ok?) This was after 6 blue puffs.

Vid (obv you need sound!)

If you think it's normal of an asthma bub then please just say so, I'm getting really down about his breathing, the night coughing and no sleep at the mo.

what a darling! difficult not seeing him in person but it is a great video!

looks to me like a healthy happy wheezer who is normally coping well but needs his meds upping for a bit while he gets over the cold he has had.

I would advise -->gp for advice regarding a "reducing regime of salbutamol" but he may also advice changing the clenil to a different type of preventer inhaler for a little while.

Asthma is a pain as it tends to go up and down so the meds often need adjusting :)

if he ever looks uncomfortable with his breathing ie doesn't want to crawl, play etc, looks listless or is too breathless to cry then -->a+e straight away as it can get worse quickly.

good luck and hope you both get some more sleep soon!

Oh Kina. First of all... :hug: