My baby has asthma

Joy and Ben

Reaction score
Hi everyone
Ben has had continual colds and coughs since october (I returned to work then and he goes to a childminder). Doctors kept saying that these continual colds were normal and that he was just adjusting to the bugs at the child miinders and being around so many other children. I'm a teacher and he said I probably carry a lot of bugs home from school too.
Anyway, three weeks ago he came out in a rash and had a high temp, we rushed him to doctore who diagnosed a viral infection. After a couple of days the temp went down adn the rash started to fade, he then got a cold (he hadn't had one for about a week!!). Two days later, he was very grumpy and sounded quite wheezy, he always sounds very rattley with every cold but doctors said this was normal. By 10pm, he was really struggling to breathe and you could see each breathe was a real effort. We rushed him to local hospital where he was given nebrolizer, but only improved a small amount so admitted to larger hopsital. Paeditrician gave him steroids and ventolin inhaler and he seemed a lot better. We went home the next day and his cough and wheezing had gone after a couple of days. Tuesday night it happened again but not as bad. He responded to a lot of puffs of his ventolin (I hate to think how many the doctor gave him) so we didn't have to stay in. GP yesterday confirmed that he has asthma. We now have a brown preventor inhlaer to take twice a day and theh ventolin for when he seems wheezy.
Part of me is relieved that we now know what is wrong with Ben and can give him the medication and hopefully make him feel better, but this afternoon I 've had a complete wobble! Sat here in tears thinking its the end of the world.
Sorry about the long pst, just need to know how others have coped and any advice on what I can do to help him.

That must have been scary for you :hug: