Are you a nursery nurse?

Eveadel

Reaction score
Im interested in a career change and would like to train to be a nursery nurse. I would like to work with newborns in hospital or by assisting health visitor or in a childrens centre. What training do I need and how long will it take?

hi hun, i'm not a nursery nurse but am a student nurse, i think you can do a course in childcare and it takes about 2/3 years, then there are other courses which follow that like nursery nursing etc and they take another year or so.

sorry i can't be more help xxx

hi hun

im a nursery nurse so if i can help i will with any questions you have,

iv done a level 2 in childcare and then done NVQ3 in childcare through my work,

there are many ways you can train for me personally i found doing the NVQ through work lot easier as i started doing a diploma in childcare and education through full time college years ago and placement which is about 2 years to do, but found i needed more practical side of things for me anyway.

but with my NVQ took me 18 months and you can get it done quicker i think, but its about 2 years to train to become fully level 3 which is what you will need.

if i can help any more just shout or PM me :hug: :hug:

hiya, im a nursery nurse, i did my nvq 2 which took a year and then my nvq 3 which took a year i did it at night college whilst workin in a nursery full time.
you can be a community nursery nurse with ur nvq 3 which is like a health visitor assistant type thing. u do the 12, 18 month assesments and weighing etc.
uw ould have to do ur health care assistant or nursing to work in a hospital tho. hope that helps u xx

Hiya,

I did my nursery nurse trainning in 1999 and I did 2 years at a further education college and gained both an NC and an HNC in Childcare and education. Our training was mostly up to the age of 7 years old and there wasn't all that much baby stuff as I chose to study more the admin side