A complete beginners guide, please!

stormieskye

Reaction score
Hey everyone and thanks for all the lovely welcomes to the forum! I am after some advice and thought you ladies would be able to help. I need a complete 'idiot's guide' to what I should buy for the baby before it comes along. So far I have the following:

5 packs of newborn nappies (27 nappies per pack) - my husband thinks this is plenty (no, he thinks it's too much!) but I think I should keep buying a pack every week with my shopping. Your thoughts?

2 packs of breast pads (how many am I likely to go through?? I believe it's a scary amount...)

And that's it apart from a couple of bibs and 2 baby grows.

So, can I have a list please, with quanitities/recommended brands - treat me like the complete novice I am, he he!! Am planning BF if I can but someone suggested getting all the bottle stuff anyway as I will need it eventually.
Thanks for reading if you've made it this far!!

Stormie xx.

Ok real basic list

(there is always so much to buy if you are tempted but I go for the minimal approach and some savings for stuff i decide I will need when LO is here)

Pram or sling
Car seat
Cot or moses basket, mattress, blankets and sheets.
baby bath or support for normal bath.
changing mat
few baby grows, vests and cardis in new born size and more in 0-3
wipes
No more nappies in new born, get next size up.
breast shells are fab if you intend to have a few EBM feeds
steriliser and bottles (only get a few if BF)

Brands are personal choice I wouldnt go for very expensive for things have a look what you can get on offer at places like boots and supermarkets

Try this link. It should give you ideas on what things you need depending on your circumstances. Other than that there is a great list in the back of the Babies R Us catalogue, although some items are really needed.