Work and Risk Assessment

Beeble

Reaction score
Hi,

I am coming up for 6 weeks pregnant and I need advice on what I should and should not be doing at work.

Normally I would trust an employer to know what they are doing but my employer seems to break every rule in the book in regards to health and safety so I would like to know what is acceptable and what is not so they don't lie to me or have me doing things I should not be doing!

I work as a carer, mainly based in a service with 3 adults who all need personal care.

My job involves -

Providing personal care (showering/washing/toileting/changing pads)
Working with an individual with Hep B (I am not vaccinated)
Pushing a wheelchair
All household tasks in regard to cooking and cleaning
Working really long shifts (starting at 7.30am and working till 11pm then sleeping at the service and getting up at 7am and working till 8.30am before going home)

I am struggling a little already at 6 weeks just with the fatigue, we do not get time to leave the service for breaks - we just have lunch with the people we support and the same with dinner.

I am worried that I might not be able to keep up with the demands of the service etc and I am not sure what aspects of my job would be a "risk" to me whilst pregnant.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

My work like to lie to me - they told me the other day I had to finish at 10pm then start a shift at 7.45am the next day and when I said I should have an 11hr rest period they told me I signed the 48hr working week directive and because of this that rule no longer applied! Which is lies - it only means I can work more than 48 hours if I want to, it does not mean I sign over all my working rights!

If i were you i would tell your employer asap and if they are unwilling to help then go to citizens advice.