Struggling At Work...

BabysMomma

Reaction score
Hi there

I work as a food operative in a food factory and am struggling with being on my feet all day.

I had a scooter accident in November (was already pregnant but didn't know as I would've only been about a week gone) and have developed bad back pain which seems quite like siatica.

I work a 7.5hr shift and 7 hours of that I'm on my feet which hurts my back to the point where I can't walk properly at the end of my shift, and the fact that I work in a fridge (has to be cold temperatures to maintain food freshness) affects it too.

I'm signed off work at the moment because I went to my doctor in desperation and explained how sore my back has been and its been affecting my sleep. I've to return to work next Monday and I'm absolutely dreading it as I know that I can't manage the standing all day.

Has anyone else been in a similar situation and how did you cope?

Suppose I should add that I only started working for my employers on 10th October 2010 and seemingly I conceived towards the end of October 2010 so I haven't a clue when I could start my maternity...due to the nature of the job I'd like to start it asap. I think I worked it out right that I'd just be about working 26 weeks for my employer before 11 weeks of my due date which is 26th July 2010...but its quite confusing. I don't want to ring HR and they say I'm not when I am, and I miss out on maternity pay because I can't challenge it because I'm not sure...any help/advice would be GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks.

Sorry you're struggling :( Can you be put on lighter duties?

Is there any way they can provide you with something to sit on to do your work or is that not possible with what you're doing? I had bad sciatica when I was pregnant with Toby and it got unbearable standing and walking sometimes, so I don't know how I'd have coped with employers to worry about instead of just a grumpy toddler!