Some advice for you on gas and electric

andreaaa

Reaction score
I haven't been on as much lately but since I've been trying to catch up today I have seen so many posts on the prices of gas/electric etc.

This is what I do for a living - but I'm not promoting my business here btw :lol: just wanted to give some tips.

If you are on prepayment meters and don't have an outstanding balance then get a normal meter installed asap. Most suppliers will do this free of charge. Prepay meters can charge anything up to double the amount that you would pay on a normal meter.

Put your gas and electricity with the same Company - there are incentives for doing this and it often works out cheaper.

Pay by monthly Direct Debit but please ensure that you give your supplier a meter reading on atleast a quarterly basis. This will ensure that you do not fall into debt with your supplier and likewise if you are massively in credit then you will know and be able to drop your monthly payments - the money is much better off in your pocket than in theirs!

If your supplier puts your budget direct debit up by more than you see fit then call them to discuss this as their payment increases do not look at individual circumstances - i.e if you are already majorly in credit then you shouldn't have to increase your payments.

Change supplier but beware of switching sites as they are NEVER independent. I have actually tried this with a very popular "switching site" (no names mentioned :shhh: ). I told them I was with Company A and they advised me to switch to Company B - I then said I was with Company B and they advised me to go to Company A! They are just a switching site - they get paid for switching you to another supplier.

If you read Which? Magazine they recently did a survey of their panel and came up with the best and worst suppliers. Companies like Which? are independent. Also ask your friends and family who they would recommend - they will atleast give you their honest advice.