Setting up own business

mermaid

Reaction score
This is something I have wanted to do for a while but it is knowing where to start! I was wondering if anyone on here works for themselves and has been successful? It sounds a great idea to work from home during and after pregnancy! I need to research the idea a bit further I think :doh:

thats my dream, to own a small home run business. i've got the ideas, just not the money lol!

what kind of thing are you thinking about doing? xx

I'm an artist so looking to do this on a full time basis. I practise various techniques but just need to get stuck in! I think the getting going is the hardest part.

I run my own business from home and it's great (mostly) - I get to spend as much time with the kids as I want and we don't need to worry about childcare.

It does have it's downsides though - I'm 'at work' 24/7. My actual hours worked add up to ~60 a week, but that's spread in between family time, it often feels like I'm working 18-20 hours a day, but to the kids, I never work because I'm always there for them. It suits us as a family, but I know it wouldn't suit most. If it wouldn't suit you, you need to be strict from the start when you'll work and when you won't.

The variable income is another downer - we're both self employed so we have double whammy. Some weeks we can have have £1000's coming in and then nothing for a while. It takes a lot of discipline to make sure we have enough put aside.

I was doing more or less what I do now as an employee, but I was more comiitted to the business than the owners were. Decided I could do better myself and took the leap. That was 15 months ago. Think about what you want to do and research, research, research.

I have worked for myself from home for nearly a year.
It can be great but......its also tough going!

The downsides:

1. Its lonely
2. no work, no money
3. you need to be EXTREMELY motivated (its quite easy to sit and surf the net when you're suppose to be working!)