Second time mums - any purchasing tips?

littlebump

Reaction score
Hi all

We've been giving some serious thought to what we need to buy for the birth and after the birth, and was wondering if you had any tips regarding what is and is not really necessary (based on past experience).

The sales people cannot be relied upon as they want you to buy everything. An example is do you have to get a moses basket/crib for baby to sleep in to start with (as Mamas & Papas would have you believe), or can you sleep them in the carry cot for the first couple of months (i.e. the removable part of the pushchair that baby lies flat in to start with).

Also, my MIL suggests as a car driver I may not need a pushchair until baby can sit upright, as I may be happier to use one of those sling-thingies (but I'm only small and am thinking the weight may be too much as baby starts to put on weight; also I'm not sure how long babies should spend in those slings...).

Any tips would be gratefully received - I still haven't won the lottery and at this rate baby will be sleeping in a drawer!!!!

Many thanks

LBxx

hi little bump, sorry I dont quite fit your credentials as Im a first time mum to, but I have also looked into this with the same questions. The answers I was given are: Moses baskets are a good idea as you can keep them with you at all times and take them from room to room with you easily. Most carry baskets that are designed as part of a travel systems are not designed for prolonged use ie not recomended for over 2 hours at a time. I think this is because of the baby is not lying flat in it. Puchchairs are the handy option as like you say doing much carrying even of a new born is going to put stress of your back, bearing in mind the relaxin hormone is still taking affects on your ligaments for another couple of months after the birth. Plus if you go out with a sling you are going to need to carry around all your changing stuff etc as well, where as most buggies provide storage.