• Xenforo Cloud has scheduled an upgrade to XenForo version 2.2.16. This will take place on or shortly after the following date and time: Jul 05, 2024 at 05:00 PM (PT) There shouldn't be any downtime, as it's just a maintenance release. More info here

REALLY scared!!

rosey

Reaction score
Getting more and more scared! I am frightened that giving birth is going to kill me, i have never been in hospital before and doctors etc scare me (even though i am a nurse!) but when its to do with me i get very scared :-(
I dunno if its normal to be feeling like this or not but i really want it over with now...

i think it is totally normal to have some morbid thoughts I get them too some times- I'm consultant led care because I am overweight so I think "omg is childbirth going to kill me?' but then I calm myself time and OH reassures me I am overreacting (no jinxes)

I think childbirth is scary and maybe we overanalyse it far too much and forget women have been doing this forever and in reality there is not a high morbidity rate - technology has come so far and if your giving birth in a hospital you have the best possible care available and all the expertise at hand.

Please don't stress- yes it will be painful, but completely worth it and one midwife said- 'our bodies take over' apparently it is very distinctive

Your not alone in scary thoughts though - today I was looking at my food and wondering how the hell?!

xxxxxxx

Glad it's not just me thinking like this then, sometimes I feel excited about then other times like I am literally going to die from it all! Weird.....

I think your feelings are totally normal but like furbaby says women have been doing this for years :) it is a natural thing for us to do, just make sure you listen to your body whilst your in labour, if you feel somethingyou don;t think is right then say to them.

My nan actually used to say that 'giving birth hurts like hell but it is the best thing a women can do with her life and it is soon forgotten'