Ouchie :(

Hayley1608

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

Im a bit of a newbie so this is my first post! I dont have many friends that have had babies so thought that this is a good way to get advice!

Im having trouble walking because of pains in my hips, lower back and pelvic area. Its worse when i sleep as i can only sleep on my sides and everytime i wake in the night (Usually to go to the toilet!) The whole side of my hip and leg is completley numb.

Its getting agonising and i was wondering if anybody is experiencing a simular thing or has any tips?

Thanks Girls,

Hayley.

Forgot to say i am 35 weeks and 2 days!

Just to give everyone a better picture of the situation :)

Probably worth seeing your doctor as it could be SPD hun. Have a read up online. I don't have it myself but from talking to ladies on here it kinda sounds like the pains you're getting may well be it. Hope you get something sorted xx

I followed your advice and read up on spd using babycentre and it does sound like this may be what is causing the pains.

Hopefully my mw may be able to advise me on the best way to manage the pains as its getting near unbearable!

Thanks for your help.

I have SPD - sounds like you have it - sorry, where are my manners??? Welcome to forum honey!!! Ha ha... I think you should refer yourself to physio or if you cant do that yourself, get your doctor to refer you. Midwife cant help you there I'm afraid and neither can GP.

In the meantime, suggest when lying in bed to prop one or 2 pillows in between your knees and ankles - I use a "V" pillow which does all in one! This stops your pelvis from going out of alignment when sleeping. The main problem you will find your pain is when you stand on one leg - right?? Ok, so now you need to avoid doing stuff one sided

1. getting out of car, keep your knees together and turn together putting both feet on floor before standing up
2. stairs - baby steps, 2 feet to each step instead of normal one for each step