New to this, advice please...

Joey2011

Reaction score
Hi Ladies,

I'm completely new to this so forgive my ignorance!

This is my 5th month of TTC (this is the only acronym I know!) and although that's not long, my husband and I haven't used protection for over ten years.

I've always been career driven and so far this year three very close friends have had miscarriages and so that's made me have a whole new perspective as I now realise that TTC is only the start of it. For the first time in my life I've listened to my heart and I do want a family and so I've decided not to put it off any longer.

Since January I've convinced myself naively that each month I was pregnant and it's all I think about and this is so not like me. My husband is great and very supportive but I just don't know how I'm going to stay sane throughout this process.

Any help, advice or support would be a huge help. Just to know someone else feels, or has felt the way I do would be a comfort.

X

i know what you mean i have been trying for a few months and each time i get excited its hard not to and easy to convince yourself x

Hi Hun...welcome!!
Me and my OH have been trying since Jan 2010 with no success. About 3 months in I was about 12 days late, convinced myself I was PG and couldn't believe how easy it was...then I came on and was heartbroken. We have been using no contraception now for about 5 years. The way I look at it is that TTC is one of the hardest things you can do but what a reward you get at the end!! Stick with it hun. The past year or so have been really hard for us and we've had many rows due to the pressure etc...the only thing I can suggest is sex sex sex!! My OH has such a low sex drive which is why, even though we've been trying so long, I wont go to the Doctors yet cos I know the first thing they'll ask is how often do you have sex...when I turn round and say 'I'm lucky if its once a week' they'll laugh me out of the surgery!! Good luck hun! xxxxx